Scholastic Book Club: Available to Homeschoolers!

Who else used to loooooove when the Scholastic Book Club flyers made their way through the class room?  I loved it as a student, and I loved it (briefly) as a parent when we participated in a co-op preschool with Silas.  I thought my days of poring over brightly colored pages and receiving a magic package of discounted books were over when we became homeschoolers.

But no!  You, too, can participate in Scholastic Book Club (now called Scholastic Reading Club – don’t ask me why), even as homeschoolers!

It’s not the most straightforward thing on earth, but it’s easy enough to do.

Step 1: Head over to the page and create a TEACHER account (don’t do a parent account).

Step 2: Now, believe me, I know this is painful, but is HAS to be done; pick up your phone and dial 1-800-497-8291 to speak to one of Scholastic’s verification agents, so that they can verify you and your homeschool are actually real.  I really, really, really hate talking on the phone, and I cringed BIG time when I realized it was required.  But!  It took me 5 minutes, tops, and the agent was VERY nice. BONUS: You get to make up a name for your “school.”  You’ve been warned, so make it count!

That’s it! Now you have access to all the discounted Scholastic Books!  You can view their flyers online or order print fliers to be mailed to you (or if you don’t love the nostalgia of the fliers like I do, you can just search for books like you would at Amazon.  You can also browse by grade level or reading level).

Do your friends and family like to give books as gifts to your kids? You can send an email invitation, which includes your magic Class Activation Code, to anyone to join your class. I emailed my mom and grandmother invitations, because they love to buy books for the boys.  Even better, you can create wishlists for your class, too, which streamlines the whole “What do they like/do you need?” question.

Happy Reading!

Do you participate in any discount programs as homeschoolers? What do you recommend?

12 thoughts on “Scholastic Book Club: Available to Homeschoolers!

  1. Have you tried KidReach through the King County Library System? They provide tubs of books throughout the school year. I work for the City of Des Moines and use them for our after school programs and summer camp but you may be able to as well! It is FREE! Worth looking in to…keep up the great work.

  2. Thank you so much for the info. I just setup a Scholastic account using the information you provided. I have recently started to homeschool. I pulled both my sons out of their public school about a month ago and they are so much happier and learning so much more. Yet, they missed their Scholastic book orders and now, we can return to Scholastic. Thank you so very much! 😀

  3. Pingback: Books for Homeschoolers Too | 4wheelersandadog

    • This was a few years ago, but I think mostly to just make sure you’re a human. 😉 Probably just the normal email, snail mail addresses and the like – nothing tricky!

      • thank-you, I was hoping for that answer :-). I didn’t file a LOI/ IHIP yet so I don’t have an acceptance letter yet.

  4. FYI… when you do this, you are publicly registering your home as a school on Scholastic’s webite. Months after creating my account, I typed in our zip code on the website and my house’s full address popped up as a school. After talking to Scholastic, there is no way to delete it. So unless you have a PO Box, I’d seriously think twice before signing up as a homeschool famiy.

    • Where on their website did you find it? The only place I found school addresses was in the book fairs list. Am I looking in the wrong place?

Leave a Reply

