Morning Affirmation (Spirits of Joy)

I mentioned earlier this week that I’m participating in Hannah Marcotti’s Spirits of Joy e-course right now, and it is so awesome.

I’m not a terribly visual person – I much prefer the precision of the written word that I can tweak in just the right way to convey my message. But this month is all about creating a vision book, an actual artifact of our journey. I’ve never really taken to vision boards – I’ve tried it once or twice and have found it frustrating to my perfectionism (ah…maybe that’s part of the point, no?) But I’m doing this vision book anyway, and the daily-ness of it is making me care less about being perfect – because if I wait until I can make it perfect, I will never get it done and it will all pile on top of me and I’ll give up in sadness in frustration.

This could still happen.

But so far, it hasn’t. Because I’m doing the daily prompts like they are stream of consciousness writing (which I love but also terrifies me). I’m getting it done “good enough” style – and then, magically, it’s done. Sure, the paper is a little ripply from the glue being too wet and I didn’t find that exact shade of purple I wanted. But holy shit – I made something. It didn’t kill me.

And also – I’m learning things as I go. What kind of glue works better, how much I love this book of background paper that I picked up at Jo-Ann’s a year ago, how much I love the box of random paper remnants that I bought from Discount School Supply last year. How I really need to buy some non-food related magazines, so that I have a selection of slightly more diverse images and copy to choose from.

Something else I’ve never really taken to: affirmations. They feel weird and phony and a little Stewart Smalley. But – I’ve been bombarded lately from about 4 people that I look up to about doing them, so you know, I thought it might be worth a shot. (In case you’re wondering, those four people are Tara Wagner, Hannah Marcotti, Jenn Gibson and Brene Brown).

I’ve been reading Daring Greatly by Brene Brown (it’s SO GOOD) and she quotes Lynne Twist about scarcity, which I found so illuminating for me:

For me, and for many of us, our first waking though of the day is “I didn’t get enough sleep.” The next one is “I don’t have enough time.” Whether true or not, that thought of not enough occurs to us automatically before we even think to question or examine it. We spend most of the hours and the days of our lives hearing, explaining, complaining or worrying about what we don’t have enough of…Before we even sit up in bed, before our feet touch the floor, we’re already inadequate, already behind, already losing, already lacking something. (from The Soul of Money, 43-45)

Whoa. That is so me, so much of the time.

And something else I found fascinating from this chapter on scarcity – Brene Brown argues that the opposite of scarcity is NOT abundance, but rather, it’s what she calls Wholeheartedness, which is centered around,

…vulnerability and worthiness; facing uncertainty, exposure, and emotional risks, and knowing that I am enough (p. 29, emphasis mine).

I just love this idea so much – Wholeheartedness. The willingness to be seen. Here I am: here is what I’ve made.

Here is my morning affirmation.

20121004-195252.jpg

6 thoughts on “Morning Affirmation (Spirits of Joy)

  1. That quote from the book you mention (getting it TONIGHT) was so spot on! My hubby and I woke up this morning talking about how much is enough sleep–what a fitting day today! Wonderful writing Chessa!

  2. Hi, popped over from Spirits of Joy – loved this post, and those words about our thoughts when we first wake up were very illuminating, I woke up this morning with a feeling of “lack” because I thought I didn’t get enough sleep! I like your collage and morning affirmation.

    • Deborah, me too! But at least today I was able to recall my affirmation and move through the feeling a little more quickly than usual for me. Thank you so much for your kind words!

  3. Love love love this journal page! 🙂 Loving kindness is a big thing for me that I (try my best to) focus really hard on. After I had kids I even got it tattooed on my wrist (in Hebrew, the Hebrew form of the word has SUCH a deeper meaning than “loving kindness” does in English, it’s a beautiful beautiful word) so whenever I’m reaching out to do something less than loving (grab something away angrily, doing my “hurry the hell up” frantic wave while yelling at the kids to “hurry the hell up”, do that nasty pointing thing moms are almost genetically predispotitioned to do when they’re angry, etc) it’s right there staring me in the face, reminding me of my committment to acting with loving kindness.

    But now I’m rambling.

    I just found your blog after following you in instagram for a while. It’s fabulous. 🙂

    • Thank you so much, Jenna! I love the idea of that tattoo there, staring back at me in my less than kind moments. I’ve always been partial to Metta, but it’s less well understood than lovingkindness. What is the hebrew word?

Leave a Reply

