Bust It! An Introduction.

Why Five O’clock Dance Party?!

They started last winter.  I was one sleep-deprived morning-person mama, exhausted from keeping a 4 year old, a baby and myself all alive, fed and clothed for the day.  It was around 5 pm, and I still had at least 30 minutes till the reinforcements would arrive (in the form of Dada).  So instead of crying or begging for quiet time, I turned to music to bail me out.  And it worked!

Bust A Move (the version from Glee) is our favorite dance party song, but we’ve been known to mix it up. Pandora keeps us fresh, yo.  And we like to shake it!  Join us!

And Now…The Intro

And with that – hello! Welcome to my brain. This isn’t my first blog ever, and it most likely won’t be my last. But neither of the previous two are really cut out for the material I want to cover here, so here we are, at 5 O’clock Dance Party Central.

Here you can expect to find my ramblings on various topics (zombies, feminist science fiction, politics) but MOSTLY you’ll be hearing about homeschooling (unschooling) with Silas, our 5 year old. And maybe some food. Because I really love to eat.

Where We’re At
We’re a family of 4 living in Seattle. We rent. Philosophizing Husband Dad (or Ph Dad) works in higher ed (ironically, not as a philosopher any more). Silas is kindergarten-aged, and he’s our rock-star, adrenaline junky super-hero dude. He’s been to preschool in the past, so we’re not *gold-star* unschoolers. (Whatever. We used a great play-based preschool at a time in our lives that made sense for us; namely, the addition of our second child into our lives). Said child, August, is 1 1/2. He’s our snuggle-bunny baby-lover. He even loves zombie babies, with no reservations.

I’m the mama. I’m a librarian by training, but stay home with my dudes totally by choice, and I realize that we are lucky to be able to do this (and yet acknowledge that we make a lot of very specific choices that enable us to do this, as well). I love to read, learn stuff, cook and eat stuff, play music, sing, act goofy, watch awkward teen dramas, and all kinds of movies (though epic Science Fiction and/or Fantasy may top my list). I’m an introvert at heart, even though it might not seem like it at first. Trust me. Being social is taxing for me. For realz.

Leave a Reply

